The Auction Software Review
247 TopSeller
Free Membership
* Receive software news
* Get exclusive discounts
* Post in the forum
Already a member? Login
eSellerPro
Linnworks Order Management
SellerExpress
Terapeak
ExportYourStore
Online Auction Software
RainWorx Auction Software
Create your own Online Auction Website!
Plus Reverse, RFQ, Classifieds, Trades, & MORE
e-commerce design
e-commerce solutions
for all business types
at Solid Cactus
 
 
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Page 1 of 1
 This topic is locked  Author  Some "usermane" is requesting a "username".  (Read 684 times)
Xarzu

Points: 10 Junior Member
Some "usermane" is requesting a "username".
« on: Aug 25, 2010, 7:28pm »

I did not expect this to happen with my wordpress blog. I do not know if it is just users stupidity or if it is spammers trying to break into my blog. Either way, it is something that needs fixing. Apparently people are trying to log in without registering.

I have been getting annoying email messages that say essentially:

wrote:

SoAndSo (SomeEmail@somewhere.com) has requested a username at MyWebForumAndBlog

www.MySite.com

To approve or deny this user access to MyWebForumAndBlog go to...




That is not exactly what it says, but you get the idea. Click here ] to see an actual message.

So I am guessing that what is happening is that someone just clicks on "log in" and then requests a password instead of clicking on Register. But there are so many of these messages that I have to wonder if this is a spam bot.

On the other hand, the message says it is requesting a username, not a password. So this is some sort of wordpress spam and trick someone is using where they are bypassing the normal login.

And it does not make sense. Think of it. Some "usermane" is requesting a "username". How do they do that?

[Last edited by Xarzu: Aug 25, 2010, 7:30pm]
Jax Music Supply

Richmond, VA United States of America




Points: 288 Star Member
Re: Some "usermane" is requesting a "username".
« Reply #1 on: Aug 26, 2010, 3:05am »

We get a lot of junk mail through our contact pages, all of a similar nature including a URL to check. I am pretty sure they are automated. Best, Jack
myibay.com
Company

United States of America




Points: 143 Veteran
Re: Some "usermane" is requesting a "username".
« Reply #2 on: Aug 29, 2010, 4:59am »

Add a captcha to this process so bots won't be able to access this feature easily.

myibidder.com: Free Auction Bid Sniper and Management for eBay
Follow us on twitter
Page 1 of 1
« Previous topic | Next topic »

» Start a new topic

ReplyManager
SixBit eCommerce Solution
Teapplix
dZine-Hub.com
Stamps.com
RSS Feed Twitter